International News

2011 Nobel Peace Prize

The Norwegian Committee of the Nobel Institute has equally divided the prize among three women: the Liberian Ellen Johnson Sirleaf and Leymah Gbowee, and the Yemenite Tawakkol Karman, for "their non-violent struggle for the safety of women and for women's rights to full participation in peace-building work". The first laureate, Ellen Johson Sirleaf, became in 2006 the first female president in Africa; a position from which she has contributed to the country's security and economic and social development. The second laureate, Leymah Gbowee, was a key figure in the mobilization and organization of Liberian women – despite religious and ethnic differences – to bring the country's rampant conflict to an end, as well as promoting female participation in the elections. The third Nobel laureate, Tawakkol Karman, is an activist for women's rights, democracy and peace in Yemen. The recognition of her work brings the prestigious award closer to the revolts of the Arab Spring.