Philosophy of Peace

Francisco Fernández Buey, Jordi Mir i Enric Prat (eds.). Filosofía de la Paz. Barcelona: Icaria, 2010.

The book Philosophy of Peace presents the thought of sixteen authors who have reflected on war and peace in a timeframe between the XVIII century and the modern day. The book includes texts by by the following authors specialising in thought and practice: Immanuel Kant, Henry D. Thoreau, Lev Tolstoy, Bertha von Suttner, Rosa Luxemburg, Mohandas Gandhi, Virginia Woolf, Simone Weil, Hannah Arendt, Albert Einstein, Bertrand Russell, Martin Luther King, E. P. Thompson, Petra Kelly, Sean Mac Bride and Noam Chomsky.

The articles are preceded by an introduction by Paco Fernández Buey on the philosophy of peace in history and the afterword, written by Tica Font, considers the challenges for today's peace movement.
The book's origins lie in the eponymous course that was held at Pompeu Fabra University between September and December 2008. The wide range of those attending highlighted the gap in this knowledge area and the willingness of many people to study it in more depth. The book is therefore a contribution to knowledge of the philosophy of peace, based on the ideas and proposals of the authors mentioned above, which is aimed at both academic readers and individuals committed to the construction of peace and justice in the modern world.